Did you know that over 10,000 Americans are killed by drunk drivers every single year? If you or a loved one was affected by a DUI case, and are now thinking about hiring a DUI attorney, we are here to help. Our guide below will share more about the attorney fees you can expect when hiring a lawyer in this specific type of law.
Read on to learn the price you can expect to pay a DUI lawyer.
How Much Is a DUI Lawyer?
The honest answer is that the DUI attorney fees will vary based on a few factors. Typically, these factors include how long they have been practicing, the area you live in, your case details, and whether you strike a plea deal or go to trial.
There are some DUI attorneys that will charge you per hour while others will charge you a flat fee to take your case. An hourly rate can cost around $100 to $500 dollars, depending on how experienced the attorney is.
A flat fee rate can cost around $1000 to $5,000, without going to trial. If the case goes to trial then you can expect the flat fee to cost around $5,000 up to $10,000.
Why Hire a DUI Lawyer?
Unless you have experience with driving under the influence laws, we wouldn’t recommend tackling this type of case on your own. Think about this: would you pull out your own tooth, or would you enlist the help of a dentist?
This is a similar concept because a DUI lawyer will know how to navigate the complexity of the court systems and drinking and driving laws. They have the knowledge of how to bargain with a prosecutor to lower the charges that you or your loved one are facing.
A lawyer with experience will know how to gather important information such as audio recordings, video recordings, police reports, breath test machine testing logs, calibration of the breath testing machine used, etc. You can learn more about DUI breath tests here to see how this can make or break your case.
The chances of an established attorney knowing prosecutors and having relationships with them are high. These relationships can really help the final outcome of a case because they will know how to minimize the consequences by working out some type of plea deal.
In the event that you can’t afford an attorney, there is the option to use one appointed by your courthouse. Keep in mind that usually public defenders are overworked and not paid as much as established attorneys. This means that while it’s not a terrible option, the chances of you seeing the results you desire are a bit slimmer.
Court-appointed lawyers don’t tend to go the extra mile to investigate a DUI case and all the evidence.
How Can an Attorney Get You Out of a DUI?
There is plenty of evidence that a DUI attorney can use to plead their case. They will look at why you were stopped in the first place to make sure that it falls within the laws for a police officer to stop you. They will also examine the observations that the police officer wrote down in the police report.
If the vehicle was searched they will investigate the probable cause that the officer used. They will also research the booking procedure and your arrest procedure.
They know when a cop is being sloppy, or not following the proper legal procedures when making a traffic stop, or an arrest.
How Long Will a DUI Stay on a Record?
The answer is that it all depends on the state you live in. It can be as little as 5 years to as long as permanently staying on your record. The five states that will keep a DUI on your record permanently include Colorado, Delaware, Illinois, Massachusetts, Texas, and Vermont.
If you are convicted as a minor, then you can eventually have an attorney wipe it out of your public record. Having a DUI on your record will restrict you from many jobs because it is considered a felony in most places and it will drive your car insurance costs through the roof.
Other Fees You Can Expect
Besides having attorney fees when dealing with a DUI, you can also expect to pay other fees. A common fine is probation fine, which can cost around $1,200 total, but this depends on where you live.
Another fine associated with DUIs includes court fines of around $150 to $1,800 if it’s a first-time DUI offense. To reinstate your license you will pay around $20 to $200.
When you are charged with a DUI, you will have to use alternative modes of transportation until your license is reinstated. These costs can be around $100 to $1,000 for either ride-sharing or public transportation.
Depending on the state you live in, you might also have driver responsibility fees to pay. These fees can be around $1,000 to $2,500.
Ready to Hire a DUI Attorney?
Now that you have learned of the fees you can expect when hiring a DUI attorney, you can make an informed decision on whether you need a DUI lawyer for your case or not. If you are not familiar with DUI laws, we don’t really recommend trying to represent yourself because you can end up in jail, or your driving privileges might be revoked for a longer period of time.
If you found this article useful, make sure you keep browsing this section for our latest reads.